↑ Return to Our School


The Governing Body was re-constituted on 8th May 2015 and consists of:

  • 4 Parent Governors (currently we have 2 parent governors)
  • 5 Co-opted Governors* (currently there are 3 co-opted governors)
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 1 LA Governor
  • 1 Headteacher

Governors are appointed for a four year term.  The Chair and Vice Chair are appointed at the beginning of each academic year.  The Full Governing Body meets twice a term as do the Resources Committee and the Curriculum Committee.

  • Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body, on the basis of a regular skills audit, because they have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

Purpose of the Governing Body

The purpose of the Redbourn Junior School Governing Body is to:

  • help the school to set high standards by planning for the school’s future and setting targets for school improvement
  • keep focussed on excelling in school improvement
  • be a critical friend to the school, offering support and advice
  • help the school respond to the needs of parents and the community
  • make the school accountable to the public for what it does
  • work with the school on planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review
  • exercise its responsibilities and powers in partnership with the Headteacher and staff
  • not intervene in the day-to-day management of the school unless there are weaknesses in the school, when it then has a duty to take action.


Permanent link to this article: http://www.redbournjm.herts.sch.uk/our-school/governors/